Association for jewish studies announces winners of jordan schnitzer book awards

The Association for Jewish Studies (AJS) has announced its winners of the annual Jordan Schnitzer Book Awards. Launched in 2008, the Jordan Schnitzer Book Awards are the first annual book award program to be offered by AJS, made possible by funding from the Jordan Schnitzer Family Foundation of Portland, Oregon. These awards recognize and promote outstanding scholarship in the field of Jewish Studies and honor scholars whose work embodies the best in the field:  rigorous research, theoretical sophistication, innovative methodology, and excellent writing. The awards are structured to recognize all areas of Jewish Studies research, paying tribute to both the breadth and depth of AJS members’ scholarship.

Please join us in congratulating this year's winners:

In the category of Jewish Literature and Linguistics
Golem: Modern Wars and Their Monsters
MAYA BARZILAI, University of Michigan
New York University Press

In the category of Medieval and Early Modern Jewish History and Culture
Contested Treasure: Jews and Authority in the Crown of Aragon
THOMAS W. BARTON, University of San Diego
Pennsylvania State University Press

In the category of Modern Jewish History and Culture: Africa, Americas, Asia, and Oceania
Young Lions: How Jewish Authors Reinvented the American War Novel
LEAH GARRETT, Monash University
Northwestern University Press

In the category of Philosophy and Jewish Thought
A Political Theory for the Jewish People
CHAIM GANS, Tel Aviv University
Oxford University Press

The Jordan Schnitzer Book Awards recipients will be celebrated in a ceremony on, December 18, 2017.

For more information and a full list of finalists and honorable mentions, visit the AJS website.